Yesterday I climbed a rocky tower at a hidden beach. One of those gigantic rocks that everyone in the town knows exists, but nobody eludes to where it actually is, because telling of its whereabouts could spoil its exclusivity. I’d spoken about this rock with friend’s siblings. Guys I have dated had asked me if I’d known about it. It’s that kind of rock.

My cousins dared me to climb. It was high. I’m scared of heights. But I love a challenge.

As I began to clamber up the vertical wall, loose sand spilled from under my bare feet. My fingers panicked and searched for rocks that jutted out, that would give me strong leverage. Reaching the top seemed impossible, but I could feel the smoothed, worn limestone where others had climbed before me. Other people had done it, so why shouldn’t I at least try? Even friggin’ kids were up there, it had to be possible.

I made the mistake of looking down while halfway up and realised that I had the choice to keep going or fall down. Vertigo shot through my body in a wild rush as I imagined tumbling down the rock face and I knew that like with so many things, it was easier to push on.

Eventually, crawling on all fours and clinging to the ledge at the top, I made it. A man I didn’t know, who had been climbing behind me gasped, “It’s like God made this rock just for us”.

As I tiptoed along the edge and stared at the azure water and people were   expectantly watching below, I couldn’t help but make a cheesy comparison to reaching a certain point in life and beginning a new year. Sometimes it’s easier to keep going when you feel like giving up or the dream seems too big. Maybe you keep going because it’s easier than going back. Perhaps it’s because you can’t let down those who are watching you climb. But you reach a stage when it’s a matter of self preservation. When it’s better to jump than be pushed. Jumping is scary, but standing on the edge waiting is worse.

So I hope you jump in to 2010, ready for whatever you may land on. (Just remember, it’s all about ‘The Climb’…cue Miley…)

Happy 2010 kiddies!

