I feel pretty happy most of the time. Not always the ‘sunshine and rainbows/it’s Springtime but acting like Summer/I just woke up and found Bradley Cooper/I think I just won the $90 million Powerball… ‘ brand of happy, but quite content.

However, a few moment have occurred in the past couple of days which are making me feel deliriously right now. Most of those moments involved sun (if only a little bit), amazing vanilla slice, belting out road trip music and sweet wine picked up while traipsing around wineries.

But all of those moments have included a wonderful, fabulous gaggle of friends.

Three of those girls I have known since I was 12, when we wore school dresses that reached our ankles, read Dolly magazine and ate fundraising Cadbury chocolate bars, Cheds and Coke for lunch. (Actually, not much has changed on the lunch front…) These girls know the back story, the characters in the pointless stories of my life and the in-jokes. They remember my machine gun laugh, my joy when I finally moved house and my blue and yellow themed 13th birthday party (I had a matching cake. It rocked).

The other girls I met in Uni, at a time when I missed my sheltered high school, at a stage when I was afraid that everything was changing. Over cheap sandwiches and Diet Coke, we discussed where we had come from and where we were going. We wanted the same things and worked to get them. We danced, drank and shared experiences we now see as legend. We talk daily. They have morphed into being my sisters and my mentors.

I feel so happy when I think about how I have these people in my life. Over the past few days we have holidayed together and now my friends are friends with each other. Which is why I’m crazy in love with the world. Cue Beyonce`…

