You know that feeling? I know you know that feeling. When the term holidays finished two weeks ago and it kind of feels like they never even occured. When you’re back in routine, jealous that the lovely parentals have reached Italia before you ever have especially after studying the language for 16 years (you heard it, 16…those subjunctive verbs still haunt my dreams) and you are  frantically trying to wake yourself out of you stupor at 5.30am three times a week to go to the gym- just so you can fill your daily choclate quota without feeling bad…

I am attempting to find amusement in the small things. (Or I have reached delirium status and am finding most things entertaining in my current state).

The first thing I said to my class today was “Whoever has their sock in Sarah’s face, move it!”

I called my mum in Spain to see how their trip was going (and how much she missed me!) She pretty much just asked if I had been taping ‘Packed to the Rafters’ for her and then asked to talk to my brother. Perhaps my golden child status has shifted…

One of my best friend’s crazed rant about the fact that Smarties no longer contain artificial colours and flavours, and that when she poured some into her hand they were *SHOCK* “EARTHY COLOURS!!!” I feel her pain. If you want to get your daily dose of vitamens, you eat an apple, you don’t reach for Smarties.  (For anyone who hasn’t experienced the chocolatey goodness of Smarties, they are kind of like m&m’s, but bigger and better).

Last night I had a dream that I worked at Seattle Grace, had a date with Hugh Grant  and Lauren Graham came over for Christmas dinner (after I met her when she was doing CRT teaching at my school, obviously!) I always become obsessed with a TV show about 100 years after everyone else and the latest culprit is Greys Anatomy…it’s probably evident that Gilmore Girls is an old faithful…

The look on my colleagues face when she shouted “Laura, do something!!!” after found the elusive mouse that had been scurrying around our building all last term. I had been deployed to catch this critter and had even cornered it a couple of times, but it was too clever for me. However poor old mousy wasn’t clever enough not to get caught under the box of the Prep’s little beanbags and when Bronnie found him, he was a little bit dead…eww.  I had to pick him up with a dustpan and brush and bury him in the playground.                                                                                                                                         I now have a reputation of Wildlife Rescuer at work. So far I’ve had to remove 3 silly Magpies from classrooms and had to rescue a Pigeon that couldn’t get back to it’s nest, all the time having an audiance of kids cheering me on…

The fact I got myself and my class locked in my classroom yesterday and we had to be rescued by the Vice-Principal with a can of WD-40. Oops.

These guys:

funny ciggies[Pic from We Heart It]
Oh yeah. Thinking about all that stuff has put me in a much happier place. Yay team!

