Thanks to the Queen’s Birthday long weekend, this week was off to an awesome start. It was a 3-day whirlwind spent with movies (‘My Year Without Sex’ & ‘Adventureland’ – both excellent), besties I know, I speak like I’m 15, trashy 80s music, trashy 80s dancing, my crazy yet talented massive Irish family, more besties, rain and fabulous food.

It’s the hours like these, listening to my cousins sing songs about my grandparents, spent discussing the ins and outs of life and participating in the great bottled Diet Coke versus Post Mix Diet Coke debate while wandering dancing through the streets of Melbourne, which make me wonder why I’m leaving.

However, I’m sure the great overseas adventure will pay off (as will sticking to a boring budget and avoiding Country Road, even in sale time!)

And in other news…it snowed in Kinglake today. (Meaning it was COLD at school!) Although I am really really glad I’m not living up around there anymore, I am so thankful that our house wasn’t affected by the fires. My Preps are STILL talking about the bushfires (as heard in today’s Show & Tell “I think going on Puffing Billy won’t be fun now because it all got burnt”) but hopefully the snow will re-energise things a little up there.

Kinglake

Even when I went up there a little while ago tiny little shoots were growing back. As I drove into Kinglake that day, I thought “Oh, it was at least 5 mins drive from our house. Ages away.” However after drive through that sort of terrain for an HOUR I realised we were very lucky ducks!

Hope you are having a lucky duck week!

xx

